Style Awards Kick Off New York Fashion Week on Wednesday

In Industry News, What's New by Accessories StaffLeave a Comment

Among this year's Style Award winners is "It girl" Kate Upton who has been named Model of the Year

Among this year’s Style Award winners is “It girl” Kate Upton who has been named Model of the Year

New York Fashion Week—The fashion temperature is rising as New York Fashion Week approaches. Helping to heat up the hype surrounding a week-long series of runways, parties and presentations is the 10th Annual Style Awards scheduled on Wednesday, Sept. 4.

The Style Awards have developed their own Golden Globes-like following since they honor top talent in the fashion and entertainment industries and will kick off Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week at Lincoln Center.

Ten awards will be announced at the show, which will be hosted by fashion icon Nicole Richie. Honorees will include Zac Posen, Kate Upton, Victor Cruz, Frederic Fekkai, Patrick DeMarchelier, Rachel Zoe, John Varvatos, Trish Summerville, Janie Bryant and Victoria’s Secret, who will each receive a Tiffany & Co.-designed award for their significant contributions to the fashion community.

‘Recognizing Style and Talent at Every Stage’

Joe Zee will be reporting on the night’s fashion as Red Carpet Correspondent and Ariana Grande will be giving a special performance to celebrate the honorees. The event is a partnership between Penske Media Corporation, IMG Fashion and SWW Creative. This year, Style Awards Show are scheduled to air on CNN  Saturday, Sept. 14, at 7 p.m. ET.

The 2013 Style Awards will be celebrating and recognizing the artistic accomplishments of top designers, athletes, costume designers, stylists, models, photographers, makeup artists, hair stylists and more.

“As the world’s eyes turn to New York City to kick off the Spring 2014 Collections, IMG Fashion is honored to host the 10th anniversary of the Style Awards at Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week,” said Jarrad Clark, global creative director at IMG. “Style is a universal language and we can’t think of a better way to start the event than with the red carpet glamour of the Style Awards.”

The 2013 honorees were chosen by the Style Awards’ Nominating Committee and Style Committee, comprised of leading figures in the entertainment and fashion communities, including Alexis Welch, Amare Stoudemire, Anne Fulenwider, Ariel Foxman, Brian Atwood, Catherine Malandrino, Cristina Ehrlich, Dennis Basso, Derek Blasberg, Iman, Jay Fielden, John Demsey and Prabal Gurung, among others.

This year’s categories include:

Designer of the Year

Model of the Year

Most Stylish Athlete of the Year

Photographer of the Year

Hairstylist of the Year

Costume Designer of the Year – Film

Costume Designer of the Year – TV

Stylist of the Year

Menswear Designer of the Year

Most Visible Brand

Winners and presenters of past Style Awards include: Allison Williams, Amy Adams, Christina Ehrlich, Cindy Crawford, David Duchovny, David LaChappelle, Emily Blunt, Eva Longoria, Iman, Jeff Gordon, Joan Smalls, Katherine McPhee, Katie Holmes, Nina Dobrev, Prabal Gurung, Rachel Taylor, Rachel Zoe, Selena Gomez, Selma Blair, and Simon Spurr. Last year, designer Carolina Herrera and athlete Henrik Lundqvist were among Style Award winners. For the last nine years, such extraordinary and diverse talents have emphasized the importance of the show in recognizing style and talent at every stage in its development and achievement.



It's only fair to share...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone