Reed Krakoff, Olsens Take Home Top CFDA Awards

In Paparazzi, People, What's New by Accessories StaffLeave a Comment

Accessory Design winner Reed Krakoff, right, with presenter "Mad Men"'s Jessica Pare

New York—In case you weren’t there to rub elbows with glitterati such as Bernadette Peters, Busy Philipps, Dakota Fanning, Devon Aoki, Gretchen Mol, Heather Graham, Jennifer Tilly, Julianne Hough, Kate Bosworth, Lauren Hutton, Carolina Herrera, Catherine Malandrino, Cynthia Rowley, David Yurman, Donna Karan, Doo-Ri Chung, Francisco Costa, Jason Wu, Jenna Lyons, Jessica Stam, Jill Stuart, Kenneth Cole, Nicole Miller, Olivier Theyskens, Rachel Roy, Rachel Zoe, Robert Lee Morris, etc. at Monday night’s 2012 Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) awards, here’s the low down:

Reed Krakoff, president, executive creative director at Coach and head of his namesake apparel and accessories label, took home the Accessory Designer of the Year Award. Other winners in accessories included Tabitha Simmons, the footwear designer, who received the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design.

Womenswear Designer of the Year honors went to dynamo twins Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row.

Vogue editor Anna Wintour presented The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Tommy Hilfiger “for his consistent, creative influence on fashion.”

Womenswear Award winners Ashley Olsen and Mary Kate Olsen with Tommy Hilfiger, lifetime achievement receipient

Film director John Waters was on hand to present two top honors to: Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons, who was recognized with the International Award; and actor  Johnny Depp received Fashion Icon award, the first time that honor has been bestowed on a man.

“This year’s awards were particularly special,” said designer Diane von Furstenberg, who serves as CFDA president. “We honored the best talent working in American fashion today and celebrated CFDA’s 50th Anniversary and the impact of our family of designers.”

Other awards and honors were presented to:

●Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid.

The Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Joseph Altuzarra. The Swarovski Menswear Award went to Phillip Lim.  All Swarovski Award recipients will receive generous financial support from the company as well as exposure to the company’s crystal products and applications for fashion.

Tabitha Simmons, left, with singer Karen Elson

The Founder’s Award–established in memory of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert– was given to Andrew Rosen.

●The Media Award for excellence in journalism, originally created in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, was presented to digital journalists Scott Schuman and Garance Doré.

Held at Alice Tully Hall,LincolnCenter, the CFDA Fashion Awards were digitally broadcast today on, a broadcast sponsored by Lexus.

“A CFDA Fashion Award is one of the most coveted awards in our industry,” said CFDA CEO Steven Kolb. “This annual event is the one night we come together to celebrate our own.”

Underwritten by Swarovski, the CFDA  Awards are based upon nominations in each award category that are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, made up of the 400+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards are ratified by the CFDA board of directors.