LVMH Names 12 Finalists for Young Designer Prize

In Industry News, What's New by Accessories StaffLeave a Comment

lvmh finalistsParis—The tension is mounting…as LVMH, the world’s largest luxurygoods comglomerate, narrows the players in its inaugural LVMH Young Fashion Designer Prize, a global competition to find the next big young fashion designer.

In February, 30 semifinalists were selected from more than 1,200 applicants and were given an opportunity to showcase their creativity in Paris in the presence of the Selection committee, a group of 42 distinguished experts from the world of fashion.

‘An Almost Impossible Mission’

“Choosing 10 of them is one thing. Choosing one? An almost impossible mission,” said Fabien Baron, world-renown photographer and editorial director at Interview magazine.

Indeed, after much deliberation, the selection committee came up with an unexpected shortlist of 12 designers instead of the originally-intended 10.

Creative directors of 7 fashion houses of the LVMH Group as well as Delphine Arnault, Jean-Paul Claverie and Pierre-Yves Roussel are part of the Jury of the Prize.

“The LVMH Prize finalists reflect the vitality and diversity of young fashion today. The singularity as well as the high level of quality of their collections particularly impressed the experts. I wish them the best of luck for the last step that awaits them which will be highly emotional,” said Arnault, whose father, Bernard, is LVMH’s chairman/ceo.

The 12 designers will now return to Paris on May 28 to meet the members of the jury who will elect the winner of the LVMH Prize for Young Designers 2014.

Starting from March 17 the LVMH Prize website will be publishing weekly video portrait specials about each finalist.

The 12 finalists are:

Atto (Julien Dossena, French, based in Paris)

CG (Chris Gelinas, Canadian, based in New York)

Gabriele Colangelo (Gabriele Colangelo, Italian, based in Milan)

Hood By Air (Shayne Olivier, American, based in New York)

Jacquemus (Simon Porte Jacquemus, French, based in Paris)

Miuniku (Tina and Nikita Sutradhar, Indian, based in Mumbaï)

Simone Rocha (Simone Rocha, Irish, based in London)

Suno (Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis, American, based in New York)

Thomas Tait (Thomas Tait, Canadian, based in London)

Tillmann Lauterbach (Tillmann Lauterbach, German, based in Paris)

Tim Coppens (Tim Coppens, Belgian, based in New York)

Vika Gazinskaya (Vika Gazinskaya, Russian, based in Moscow)



It's only fair to share...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone