Diane von Furstenberg Honored by New School

In People, What's New by Marilise GavenasLeave a Comment


It’s that time of year again.

In a  sign that graduation season will soon be upon us, schools are announcing recipients of honorary degrees and lining up commencement ceremony speakers.

First to nab a big name in fashion: The New School (parent institution of Parsons School of Design), which will be awarding an honorary degree to designer and CFDA chairman Diane von Furstenberg.

Von Furstenberg will speak at the 80th commencement exercises to be held at the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center on May 20.

But she’ll be limited to five minutes, since The New School sets a time limit in order to dispense with “formalities and cliché speeches.”

Also on The New School’s honorary recipient/five-minute list: Black Lives Matter activist DeRay Mckesson, International Rescue Committee president and CEO David Miliband.


It's only fair to share...
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone