Gwyneth Paltrow and Michael Kors

CFDA Presents 2010 Winners

In What's New, Industry News by Accessories Staff

Gwyneth Paltrow and Michael Kors

Gwyneth Paltrow and Michael Kors

New York–The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) celebrated the winners and honorees the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards at a star-studded event held Monday at Lincoln Center. Marc Jacobs won Womenswear Designer of the Year, while Alexis Bittar received Accessory Designer of the Year. For the ninth year in a row, Swarovski underwrote the event.

Celebrities Alexa Chung and Ed Westwick presented all three Swarovski Awards recognizing emerging talent. The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Jason Wu won for Womenswear and Alexander Wang won for Accessory Design. Michael Kors won the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The late Alexander McQueen was honored with the Board of Directors’ Special Tribute Award presented by Sarah Jessica Parker. A live presentation of his final 16 looks were shown on models; the first time the collection has been seen in its entirety since its original presentation in Paris in March.

For just the second time, the public was able to cast their vote for their favorite designer, with the award going to Ralph Lauren.

“Tonight is the night we designers and members of the industry salute our peers and celebrate their talents. We are a family,” CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg told the sold-out theater, outlining the CFDA’s accomplishments, such as raising $1 million for the Clinton Bush Haiti Fund, launching the CFDA Fashion Incubator, working with the Design Trust on the Garment District, lobbying for copyright protection through the establishment of the Fashion Law Institute, and the continued growth of services for CFDA’s 350 members.

To name just a few, the event featured designers Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen, Betsey Johnson, Carolina Herrera, Catherine Malandrino, Cynthia Rowley, Donna Karan, Francisco Costa, Max Azria, Narciso Rodriguez, Nicole Miller, Norma Kamali, Patrick Robinson, Peter Som, Philip Crangi, Rachel Roy, Rafe Totengco, Rebecca Taylor, Reed Krakoff, Tory Burch , Tracy Reese, Vera Wang and Zac Posen; celebrities Dakota Fanning, David Bowie, Ed Westwick, Emilie de Ravin, Gwyneth Paltrow, Isabella Rossellini, Jessica Biel, Michelle Trachtenberg, Molly Sims, Nadja Swarovski, Rachel Zoe and Sarah Jessica Parker.

Swarovski had designers create the “ultimate Swarovski piece to celebrate the category for which they were nominated.” Designers utilized Swarovski’s crystals, trims, and beads and their finished products are now part of an exclusive compilation entitled: The CFDA Swarovski Award Collection. The collection will be sold with proceeds benefitting the CFDA’s educational initiatives.

The winners and honorees of the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards:

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone

Accessory Designer of the Year: Alexis Bittar

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Richard Chai

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Alexander Wang

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Kors

International Award: Christopher Bailey for Burberry

Eugenia Sheppard Award: Kim Hastreiter, Editor & Publisher, Paper magazine

Eleanor Lambert Award: Tonne Goodman, Fashion Director, Vogue

Fashion Icon Award: Iman

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute: Alexander McQueen

Item of the Day
Retail Ventures Sales Leap Drives Improvement