CFDA Names This Year’s Fashion Awards Honorees, Nominees

In What's New, Industry News by Accessories Staff

CFDA AwardsNew York—There may not be cavalcade of international press poised break the nominations as happens with the Academy Awards, but when The Council of Fashion Designers of America announces its annual list of nominees and honorees for the CFDA Fashion Awards, it’s big news.

On Tuesday night, the CFDA released its 2014 list of nominees at an event hosted by CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg and Nadja Swarovski at the Bowery Hotel.

The 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place on Monday, June 2 at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall.

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Alexander Wang, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, and Marc Jacobs.

For Accessories Designer of the Year Award the nominees are Alexander Wang, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCullough for Proenza Schouler, and Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row.

Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone, and Thom Browne.

Others are up for The Swarovski Award, which recognizes recipients in each category who will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Rosie Assoulin, and Wes Gordon have been nominated for the Swarovski Award for Womenswear. The nominees for the Swarovski Award for Menswear are Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder, and Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air.

Tom Ford, Raf Simmons Among Honorees

For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Fisher, and Marc Alary.

Before the nominees were revealed, it was announced that film director and screenwriter John Waters will be the host of this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards. Last year, Waters presented the International Award to Rei Kawakubo and the Fashion Icon Award to Johnny Depp.

“I’m so excited to be inviteback,” Waters said, “and I look forward to taking the stage to celebrate the thin line that divides fashion between glamour and creative insanity.”

The honorary awards go to a diverse group of fashion luminaries. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Tom Ford.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting during her time at the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Paul Cavaco.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert, will go to Bethann Hardison.

The Board of Director’s Tribute Award goes to Ruth Finley for her indelible contributions to the world fashion.

The International Award will go to Raf Simons for his creative contribution to the international fashion stage.

“The CFDA Fashion Awards are a fashion institution. It is an evening that not only celebrates all generations of American design talent, but also reinforces our industry’s growing influence across the globe,” said Steven Kolb, CFDA chief executive. “This year’s nominees and honorees represent the best and most creative talent of the past year as determined by a Guild of their peers.”:

Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, made up of the 450+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, were confirmed earlier Tuesday at a meeting of the CFDA Board of Directors.





Tomorrow @ Bloomingdales Soho!
Tod’s Cautious as 2013 Profit Falls