CFDA Names 2013 Fashion Award Nominees, Honorees

CFDA AwardsNew York—While they might not get the TV coverage that the Oscars or Emmys do, The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) cause quite a stir annually with the release of the nominees for one of fashion’s biggest awards.

On Wednesday night, Diane von Furstenberg, CFDA president, and Steven Kolb, chief executive, read off this year’s list of nominees and honorees. Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, made up of the 400+ members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists. The nominees, as well as recipients of the honorary awards, are ratified by the CFDA Board of Directors.

The 2013 nominees and honorees are:

The nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year Award are Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs and Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler.  The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Steven Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown, Michael Bastian, and  Thom Browne.

For Accessory Designer of the Year Award the nominees are Phillip Lim for 3.1 Phillip Lim, Alexander Wang, and Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler.

The Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are: Steven Cox & Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown, Michael Bastian, and Thom Browne.

For the Swarovski Award for Womenswear, nominees include: Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Carly Cushnie & Michelle Ochs for Cushnie et Ochs, and Erin Beatty & Max Osterweis for Suno.

For the Swarovski Award for Accessory Design, the nominees are Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Meyer, and Pamela Love.

And for the Swarovski Award for Menswear, nominees are Dao-Yi Chow & Maxwell Osborne for Public School, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder.

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.

In addition, honorary awards will be presented in various categories. The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, named for the fiercely independent, four-time CFDA Fashion Award winner, will be presented to Vera Wang.

The Media Award, given in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, the influential journalist who revolutionized fashion reporting with her reports in the New York City Herald Tribune, will be given to Tim Blanks.

The Founders Award, given in honor of CFDA founder Eleanor Lambert who is widely credited with putting American fashion on the map, will go to Oscar de la Renta.

The 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards are scheduled for Monday, June 3 at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center. Once again generously underwritten by Swarovski, the awards event will be digitally broadcast on Tuesday, June 4, on

Like this? Share it!

Jeff Prine

Jeff Prine, Editor at Large, Accessories Magazine
Jeff returns as a regular contributor to Accessories magazine. Initially Jeff worked as senior editor at Accessories more than 20 years ago and his love of the industry has followed him until present. Since his tenure here, Jeff has continued to report jewelry, watch and other luxury goods trends as executive editor at Modern Jeweler magazine, fashion director at Lustre, and as contributor on products and trends for consumer and trade publications and websites. In addition to his editorial experience, Jeff also served as an adjunct instructor for accessories merchandising at Fashion Institute of Technology.